SF AppleCore

About AppleCore

Founded in 2009, AppleCore is one of the Chinese Science Fiction and Fantasy fandoms with a relatively long history.

In May 2009, the idea of holding a University Science Fiction & Fantasy Festival in Shanghai and inviting writers to participate was discussed among the members of Science Fiction Association of Fudan University. Three other university SF clubs in Shanghai were contacted, and they agreed to join the effort. The names of those clubs are: Science Fiction Association of Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Starry Fire SF Club of University of Shanghai for Science and Technology, and The Ally of Sun-chasers – SF Club of Tongji University.

All the four university sf clubs formed a new committee and reached an agreement to organize an event similar to the 1st Shanghai SFF Forum held in Tongji University In June 2007. Reasonably, the upcoming event was denominated as ‘the 2nd Shanghai Science Fiction & Fantasy Festival’.

In July 2009, it was reported that a total solar eclipse would be observable in the Yangtze River Basin, which was quite rare for the region. Scientific Squirrels, a popular science organization in China, set up an observation camp on a farm in the suburbs of Shanghai. Considering that many sf fans were also enthusiasts of astronomy, it would be a good opportunity to win support from various groups of people.

So the newly formed committee decided to organize this event with Scientific Squirrels in a joint effort. Although the solar eclipse was obscured by the rains and the clouds, it was a successful exercise for building contacts.

Then it was the slow season of summer vacation, during which not much was happening except for the drafting of a rough proposal. The first meeting that promoted real progress was held in early September, when the new semester began and everyone was back from hometown or field work. In this meeting, the overall plan for 2009 Shanghai Science Fiction & Fantasy Festival was settled. According to the plan, each of the four university sf clubs would organize an event in its own campus.

Another meeting was conducted on Oct 11, 2009, to fulfil the idea of establishing a SF union in Shanghai. There were several choices for the name of the new fandom, such as Ke Ai Meng (可爱萌, Cute and Moe or 科幻爱好者联盟, Union of Science Fiction Fans) and Ephemera Association (蜉蝣会). Finally, SF AppleCore (科幻苹果核) stood out as the winner. Apple is the fruit of wisdom. Newton was inspired by a falling apple for the understanding of gravity. Allen Turing bit a poisonous apple to commit suicide. Apple has many connections in meaning. Meanwhile, “core” can be interpreted as the core of science fiction, core of imagination, core of science and core of fans.

After that, the members of the newly founded fandom devoted themselves eagerly to the impending SFF Festival. The festival lasted for about one month, with a variety of activities in all the four universities at weekends. FDU held the opening ceremony, SJTU were responsible for the movie screening, USST hosted a contest of debate and TJU organized a meeting with editor-in-chief of Science Fiction World Magazine and concluded the festival with a closing ceremony.

Yang Sumin, or Susu, made a promotion video for the whole festival:
http://www.tudou.com/programs/view/trgnLw659gw/

Apart from these independent events, a series of competitions were carried out in the campus of the four universities. Each of the universities had built its own team with about four members. Those teams would participate in a live-action role playing game in one of the other three universities excluding their own. That means each university had to design a game with plots and tasks to be played out on campus.

The background story of the game was set in the city of Shanghai, which was in danger of being destroyed by SFF writers, so the fans had to save the city by winning the game. The first round of the game took place in Fudan University after the opening ceremony. Of all the four rounds, this might be the most special one because the SJTU team was set up to compete with a guest team composed of the SFF writers and editors who had attended the opening ceremony. The two teams were assigned with different tasks and led to different routes. They could purchase clues with rings and get rings when completing a task. Most of the guests were from the magazine Odyssey of China Fantasy, the contents of which were closely based on the settings of an original Chinese fantasy world – Novoland. To honor their participation, the plots of the game were designed to bespoke strong ties with Novoland. Running around the campus seemed to be one of the challenges. A video was compiled out of the recordings during the four rounds of the game by Zhang Zilong.

http://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XMTc5MzYyMzgw.html

The closing ceremony of Shanghai Science Fiction & Fantasy Festival in Tongji University turned out to be a great success. Many big names in Chinese science fiction and fantasy attended as guests, for example, Wang Jinkang, Han Song, Chen Qiufan, Chu Xidao, Ming Ling, A Tun, Jun Tian, Pan Haitian, etc. The founder of Scientific Squirrels and Guokr.com, Ji Shisan also appeared in the event. The hostess of the ceremony was Ji Shaoting, who would become the bid chair of the Beijing 2016 Worldcon bid a few years later. Outside of the ceremony hall, a small market place was set up, where fans could purchase T-shirts, calendars and books, or win small gifts by answering quiz questions.

Since then, AppleCore has strived hard to accommodate this annual event in each and every year and managed to do so from 2009 through 2014, except in 2010. The festival is usually in May, except for that in 2009 it was in November and December. Up to Mar 2015, there are seven university sf clubs in Shanghai: Science Fiction Association of Fudan University, Science Fiction Association of Shanghai Jiaotong University, The Ally of Sun-chasers – SF Club of Tongji University, Parallel Universe Science Fiction Club of Donghua University, Shanghai University Science Fiction Society, Shanghai Maritime University Fantasy Star SFA and Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature Club of Shanghai University of Traditional Chinese Medicine.

During all these years, AppleCore is growing larger and stronger. Nowadays, it is more than just a union of university sf clubs. Since Oct 2013, AppleCore has started a monthly gathering program in Shanghai – AppleCore Party. Fans come along to take part in lectures, movie screenings, panel discussions or other activities in the afternoon and then have dinner together. The essential idea is to get science fiction and fantasy fans together, providing them the opportunities to socialize and learn knowledge. Principally, the targeting participants of AppleCore Party are fans who have already graduated from school and work in Shanghai, but students are also welcomed. The gathering is open to everyone with free admission. Attendants only need to pay for their meals if they choose to stay until dinner.

In Nov 2014, another programme, AppleCore Reading Group, was kicked off. Members are encouraged to read a specific book every month and meet to discuss about it. There are supposed to be two meetings in a month, one in the university and one outside. The consensus is that the book club will start within a limited circle of members and gradually extend to a larger group.

AppleCore also co-organize events with Shanghai Science & Technology Association. Those events are usually more formal and serious, facing a larger audience and bearing the official function of science popularization.

Furthermore, AppleCore has a cartoon endorser – the APC Girl, a cute girl holding an apple with crystal core. Her image appears in different situations and on various products designed by AppleCore. In some important events, such as the Chinese Nebula Award Ceremony, a real APC Girl might even show up.

As a fandom, ApplceCore is still young, but working hard to grow up, and hopefully, when the time is right, AppleCore will try to bid for the World Science Fiction Convention, to bring this world-wide event for Science Fiction fans to Shanghai.

科幻苹果核

关于科幻苹果核

科幻苹果核是国内历史最久的科幻奇幻爱好者组织之一。

2009年,复旦科幻协会打算在上海举办一次幻想节,并邀请科幻奇幻作家参加。于是协会联络了上海另外三所高校的科幻协会:上海交通大学科幻协会,上海大学星火科幻俱乐部, 同济大学逐日科幻俱乐部。他们同意共同承办这项活动。

2007年6月,同济大学曾举办第一届上海幻想论坛,因此四所高校的科幻俱乐部决定组织一次类似的活动,并将其命名为第二届上海幻想节。

2009年7月,长江三角洲可观测到罕见的日全食。科普组织科学松鼠会在上海郊区的农场建立了观测营地。鉴于许多科幻迷也热衷于天文学,这是个赢取更多支持的好机会。

因此新成立的筹划委员会决定与科学松鼠会共同组织观测活动。虽然由于阴雨天气无法观察到日食,但委员会成功结交了一批新朋友。

在接下来的暑假里,一份草拟的计划诞生了。等到大部分人都返回学校之后,2009幻想节的筹备取得了很大进展。在9月初的一次会议上,最终计划被制定出来,根据这份计划,四所高校将各自在校园内组织活动。

2009年10月11日的又一次会议确定了建立一个上海科幻联盟的目标。至于如何命名这一新的幻迷组织,当时有几个选项,例如:可爱萌(科幻爱好者联盟),蜉蝣会,等等,而“科幻苹果核”最后胜出。苹果代表智慧,牛顿曾受到掉落的苹果启发,阿兰·图灵吞毒苹果自杀,苹果有许多含义。而“核”可以解释为科幻的核心,想像的核心,科学的核心,幻迷的核心等等。

随后,新成立的幻迷协会开始积极投入幻想节的运营工作。幻想节持续了一个月时间,每周末在四所大学都有各种活动。复旦大学举办了开幕典礼,交大负责电影放映,上海科技大学举行辩论赛,而同济大学组织了与《科幻世界》杂志主编的见面会,并主办闭幕仪式。

幻想节宣传视频

除此之外,四所高校的校园里将举办一系列竞赛。每所大学组建一支四人左右的小队,前往其他学校参与真人角色扮演游戏。也就是说,每所大学都需要设计适合校园中进行的情节与任务。

游戏的故事背景是,科幻奇幻作家们试图毁灭上海,而参与游戏的队员则需要拯救这座城市。开幕式后,第一轮竞赛在复旦大学举行。这一轮较为特殊,因为交通大学队将与由幻想作家和编辑组成的嘉宾队展开竞争。两支队伍分别执行不同的任务线,通过完成任务得到戒指(?),并用戒指购买线索。大部分嘉宾来自《九州幻想》杂志,因此游戏剧情也跟九州世界有着紧密的联系。事实证明,在校园里来回奔走是一项不小的挑战,游戏的录像剪辑在这里

同济大学举办的幻想节闭幕式获得了圆满成功,中国科幻奇幻界的许多重要人物均有出席,包括王晋康,韩松,陈楸帆,楚惜刀,Ming Ling,阿豚,Jun Tian,潘海天,等等。科学松鼠会和果壳网的创始人姬十三也有到场,而闭幕式主持人则是姬少亭(小姬)。闭幕式会场外的小集市中有售卖协会的T恤,日历和书籍,幻迷们还可以参加竞猜游戏,赢取小礼品。

自此之后,科幻苹果核力图每年举办一次大型幻迷活动。事实上,除了2010年之外,从2009年至2014年,每年的5月份(只有2009年是在11至12月)都成功举办了幻想节。截止2015年3月,上海共有七家高校科幻俱乐部:复旦科幻协会,上海交大科幻协会,同济大学逐日联盟,东华大学平行界科幻俱乐部,上海大学科幻协会,上海海事大学幻星科幻协会,上海中医药大学科幻协会。

近年来,科幻苹果核逐渐壮大成长,如今,它已不仅仅是一个高校科幻俱乐部联盟。自2013年10月开始,苹果核推出了每月一次的聚会活动——苹果派。幻迷们在活动的当天下午共同进行演讲,座谈,电影放映等活动,然后晚上一起聚餐。其主要目的是让科幻奇幻爱好者有机会互相交流与学习。苹果派的目标人群是已经毕业,且在上海工作的幻迷,当然,对在校学生也同样欢迎。苹果派聚会免费向公众开放,只有留下聚餐的参与者需自行支付晚餐费用。

2014年11月,苹果核启动了读书会活动。参与活动的会员需在一个月内读一本指定的书,然后参加讨论会。读书会计划每月举行两期,一次在校园内,一次在校园外。目前的设想是,读书俱乐部将先在小范围内推广,然后再向大众发展延伸。

苹果核也经常与上海科技协会共同举办活动,主要以较为正式严肃的科普功能为目标。

苹果核的卡通形象代言人叫作核娘,是个可爱的小姑娘,手中握着一颗带有水晶核的苹果。这一卡通形象会出现在与苹果核相关的各种场合与产品上。而在某些重要活动中,还有真人扮演的核娘亮相,例如华语科幻星云奖的颁奖典礼。

作为幻迷组织,科幻苹果核依然还年轻,但它正在努力成长。有朝一日,等到时机成熟,苹果核还打算申办世界科幻大会,将这一世界性的科幻盛会带来上海。